“If we accept mediocrity, then we send the message that mediocrity is acceptable…”

I need to reflect on how I support a growth mindset with my students and think about how I can help them build confidence in the ability to improve. Several times, recently, I’ve heard people say, ” ‘Good enough’ rarely is.” If we want to move away from complacency, we need to expect (and demand) better work from the “good enough” crowd. We need to scaffold the learning activities to develop the requisite skills. Equally (if not more) important, we need to help our students know what quality work looks like and help them identify next steps in moving toward that goal.  I’m feeling a renewed commitment to “[stop] accepting and grading substandard work” from students who are capable of meeting the learning outcomes.

Thoughts or experiences with this?

Quotes from :  Schimmer, T. (2016). Grading From the Inside Out. p 34.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply